Kristy's Zumba in Lebanon 
 
Picture
Serves: 4        Hands-on Time:  10 Mins      Total Time:   35 Mins

Ingredients:
4 cups - Low-Sodium Veggie Broth ($2.49 - Giant)
8 oz  - Collard Greens, chopped - about 8 cups ($0.80 - Giant)
1 (14.5 oz) Jar No Salt Added Diced Tomatoes  (already had)
12 oz Red Potatoes, cut in 1/2" dice - about 2 cups (already had)
1 (15.5 oz) Can Black-Eyed Peas, rinsed & drained ($0.95 - Giant)

Pantry Staples:
Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Instructions:
One: Bring broth & 2 cups water to a boil in a large saucepan or Dutch Oven over high heat.  Add collard greens, cover and simmer for 15 mins.
Two:  Add tomatoes and potatoes, and return to a simmer.  Cover and cook until potatoes are tender, 10-12 mins.  Stir in peas and simmer until heated through, about 2 mins.  Season with pepper to taste, and serve immediately.

Nutrition: 2-1/4 cup serving: Calories - 180: Total Fat - 1g: Sat Fat - 0g: Carbs - 37g: Fiber - 8g: Sugars - 5g: Protein - 10g: Sodium (w/ low sodium ingredients!) - 710mg: Cholesterol - 0mg.

Notes:  I couldn't find "low-sodium" veggie broth so I just bought regular.  Same for the Black-Eyed Peas...no "low-sodium".

Reviews:  I ate this by myself and I actually really liked it.  I thought it would be boring, but I finished my whole bowl and wasn't hungry afterwards.  I chose to chop the greens in small pieces because the thought of big pieces of greens grossed me out, haha!  This would be great for lunch as well.  I'll post pics of this as well!!  (found pic online!)
BF Review:  He liked it!  He needed something else with it because it just wasn't enough for dinner...maybe better as a lunch meal. 


Here is the link to this recipe...I didn't realize it was online as well!
Black-Eyed Pea Stew
YoMama
1/18/2011 09:38:21 pm

This was very good especially when I got home last night after Toning & Zumba and needed to eat something healthy. It filled me up but didn't make me feel over full. Just what I needed.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.